Archinect
anchor

Process

Hasselhoff

Can someone suggest a good book or something I can look at about process? I pretty much still don't know how to start a project. I usually spend 10 weeks doing nothing, then make up something that has no basis on anything. It seems that is ok in the real world, but in school you have to say a bunch of crap and show ugly models of your crap.

Sep 27, 06 8:35 pm
not_here

something on eisenman's tranformations of form maybe?
that ted talks lecture by joshua prince-ramus? he does deal with process in it. tedblog.typepad.com

Sep 27, 06 9:19 pm  · 
 · 
dia

I would reference Bruce Mau's Incomplete Manifesto as a guideline for creating processes.

Design to me is all about process. I am a machinist - I am currently working on a process framework that I have a hunch will be fruitful.

When in studio, I would get flashes of images when discussing the project, that generally tended to reappear in the final project. These are the guides/hunches.

The important part to note is that the process is a 'design' in itself. You design the process to produce certain results. For that you need to know generally where you are going and what you want, and you must prepared to discard or modify the process to achieve your aims.

The process is a tool, and you need not lose your temper when you start to hit yourself on the thumb - modify the tool, modify the target, modify the environment - but you still have to nail it.

The process is not static or immovable.
Nor is it God.

Precedents are useful, so research similar projects or similar premises.

The other key point is to start anywhere, with anything and focus on producing, producing, producing.

Refer Mau.

Sep 27, 06 9:36 pm  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff

That's where I get stuck. Produce what? Haha.

Sep 27, 06 9:43 pm  · 
 · 
dia

Produce anything.

Sep 27, 06 9:45 pm  · 
 · 
dia

A process sheet from one of my presentations:

Sep 27, 06 10:05 pm  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)