Archinect
anchor

Manhattan Rooftops

Laurem

I am an architecture student who is trying to gain access to any rooftops in Manhattan (preferably around the Union Square, Washington Square Area, or Chelsea areas). Any suggestions? So far I haven't gotten on one roof.

Sep 25, 06 5:18 pm
larslarson

is it a rooftop you want? or just the view down? cause
i'd suggest the empire state building for that..
as far as rooftops go..maybe the w hotel?
or maybe some sort of nyu student housing in the area?

Sep 25, 06 7:07 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

It's not quite the area you mention, but The La Quinta Inn on 32nd Street between 5th and 6th Avenues has a rooftop bar. Nice view of the Empire State Building if you look straight up.

Sep 25, 06 7:31 pm  · 
 · 

D'oh! I just discovered that place! I thought it was a SECRET!

Sep 25, 06 9:38 pm  · 
 · 
Katze

Are you looking for a place to hang out, or a place to view the city, or something else? If it's the later the FBI might be interested in your intentions:)

Sep 25, 06 10:28 pm  · 
 · 
Laurem

I guess I need to give more detail or I do look quite suspicious...

My project is to create a space that would be an "Exit" from Manhattan, either literal or experiential.

I am looking at the roofscape as a topography. I am interested in creating rooftop escape structures that would be added to the roofscape. I starting looking at using rooftops because I wanted to create my escape structure throughtout the city. I was interested in water towers and saw them as a metaphor to these "escape structures" as they were spread throughout the city. I am interested in gaining access to a roof in those three areas because of their views of the water towers. These structures would act as a screen (of the city) for the subject within the space which would allow visual connection to other rooftop escape structures and create a network of these installations.