Archinect
anchor

work in london

ferd

just wondering if anybody out there would like to share their experiences on working in london. i'm moving to the UK and am wondering what I can start to expect for placement, salary, etc. I know that the range is incredibly broad, so I would be interestd in hearing others experiences.

just a bit of info on myself, I have five years work experience with a notable office (2yrs project arch.), after completion of an MArch in Canada. considerable site and construction experience.

any stories or advice would be awesome.

Ferd

Sep 4, 06 6:41 pm
Kardiogramm

use google and see what placements are available online, i know that RIBA has a section on their website. There's usually a description of the amount of money you will earn per annum.

here is a link to another site:
http://www.building4jobs.co.uk/

Sep 5, 06 11:13 am  · 
 · 
Mido

I was browsing for jobs in UK. I don't understand the requirements of the architectural positions. What is meant by architect assistant I, architect assistant 2, technical architect?

Oct 20, 06 8:07 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

I may be moving to London also. Rather than researching jobs, I have been looking for used alfa's on Ebay...

Oct 20, 06 9:55 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

mido i think you may find the definitions here

Oct 20, 06 10:02 am  · 
 · 
antipod

Part 1: First Three Years of Uni Completed, basically an Intern.
Part 2: Uni completed, basically a Graduate.
Part 3: Registered Architect (ARB)

Be aware that the ARB are the spawn of Satan and often do not recognise qualifications from overseas schools. Not a plroblem unless you plan to sit your part 3 in the UK.

Oct 24, 06 7:02 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

yes but what kind of car should i get?

Oct 24, 06 7:20 am  · 
 · 
antipod

this one:

http://www.on-one.co.uk/index.php?module=pagemaster&PAGE_user_op=view_page&PAGE_id=131&MMN_position=95:95

(sorry, I'm too stoopid to make the link thing work).

Oct 24, 06 8:35 am  · 
 · 
mouse