Archinect
anchor

Auto CAD cerfication to get in M.Arch program?

choijw2

Just a quick question,

i'm a senior studying in urban and regional study, and want to study architect after.

but my GPA is horrible, and Im working on my portfolio but im not good at drawing, 

only art I do is music, photography, and sometime making small furniture etc

and i found this civil engineering and architectural technology program, which focus on architeral drafting and Auto CAD.

i was wondering if taking this program will help me getting a job at an architect firm, and if i can im going to use this work experiences to help me getting in to M.Arch program. 

or is there any other certifications or skills that can help me getting a job at  architect firms? ( i really want to work at big architect firm, and being an architect is my dream)

also are all Auto CADs are same? like... if  you know how to use Engineer Auto CAD, will you be able to use Architectural Auto CAD too?

thank you

Mar 16, 12 12:01 am
jpugarte1

I know the differences between architectural, engineering, electrical, etc... are not too big. But it really doesn't matter, since you should learn to use REVIT, Archicad, or other BIM software instead of Autocad (It would also be nice if you could complement REVIT with a more complex 3d model software, like 3dsMax or Maya).

That's my advice: REVIT, not Autocad (any way, by knowing REVIT you will know learn autocad in a few days if you want to)

Mar 16, 12 9:42 am  · 
 · 

ive never worked for an office that used Revit. I have used Autocad, Vectorworks, Microstation, Rhino and ArchiCAD in professional settings though. Dont worry about learning a particular software. Just know how to learn software easily so you can adapt.