Archinect
anchor

HVAC: DX System vs. Air Cooled Chiller

todd

What are the dis/advantages to the 2 systems if you were prescribing one to a 5 level (20,000SF/Floor) Building in Florida. Building Dimensions are 350' X 62' and a 75' Height. Mixed use ranging from medical office space to thermal spa on top level.

I am trying desparately to convince this owner to go ground mounted air cooled chiller system vs. this DX system which would operate on 6-7 zones per floor.

Can anyone give me a great argument and not the obvious one, why the hell wouldn't you. The pricing for the air cooled chiller system is to be in the range of 2.0 to 2.2 million design build. I can not put a number figure on this DX system which would be broken into multiple 10 ton units throughout.

thanks in advance to all the knowledgable souls on these page....

todd

Jul 12, 06 3:38 pm
tee

Any more information you can give? I feel like I'm missing something here, but in my point of view (and I'm not an expert)...

Having a central system (large ground DX chiller) allows you to build in diversity into the cooling system. You can accomodate for the diversity of uses in your building - with the correct design, it can accomodate for even the hottest/humidest days there, without having to tax the system.

As well, and I may be incorrect, but i believe that the efficiency of the central chiller system is higher than individual DX systems. Usually, smaller units (10 ton DX units) have a lower efficiency - typically, the larger the mechanical tonnage, the more efficient it is - and with a VFD, it will likely be more energy efficient with staging of compressors and such.