Archinect
anchor

Architecture/Design magazines

morfo

Any comment on Wallpaper, Dwell and Metropolis? Other recommendations?

Jun 26, 06 11:09 pm
chupacabra

Summa +

picked it up in argentina...it is good.

Jun 26, 06 11:21 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

Comment is try searching past thread topics.you never know what you'll find.

Jun 26, 06 11:32 pm  · 
 · 
brian buchalski

wallpaper has seriosly lost its edge since tyler brûlé split after episode 49. the whole thing seems to be about nothing more than buying the coolest shit...whatever that is this month.

i actually think that robb report luxury home and architectural digest are probably more relevant.

Jun 26, 06 11:35 pm  · 
 · 
RKTechture

I have a subscription to Metropolis...interesting read usually. Seems to cover all the bases; architecture, art, planning issues, product design and some social and political commentary worked in. One thing I hate is how one two page article is spread out over six pages because it's broken up with ads. I guess that's any magazine though.

Jun 27, 06 12:32 am  · 
 · 
fulcrum
Detail

Compare to some other architectural magazines, it's pretty expensive to subscribe but with Detail, you can actually use it as reference for several years after its issuing date. It's very resourceful. Metropolis has some good readings, but just like any other magazines, it's loaded with advertisements.

Jun 27, 06 7:41 am  · 
 · 
A Center for Ants?

i was about to say Detail as well. fulcrum is 100% right.

It's an amazing resource and invaluable as a fixture in your library. i have a few copies on my desk as i type. all the copies at my firm are all dogeared and post-it tabbed quite thoroughly

Jun 27, 06 2:50 pm  · 
 · 
MADianito