Archinect
anchor

This is why I became an architect....

this_guy

I am a newbie to the world of office life. Still a student, working on an optional co-op this summer, it has occurred to me that the world of the architect isn't filled with magnificent concept models and beautifully rendered perspectives. The tedium of working in a small, hometown office is beginning to wear me thin. I feel I am losing the passion for my work that keeps me excited and ambitious in school. I am in dire need of inspiration. What I ask of you guys is:

Was there ever a point in your career that you said to yourself, “this is why I became an architect.”

It doesn't have to be glorious, simply justification of time well spent.....
Thanks-

Jun 21, 06 8:58 pm
b3tadine[sutures]

everyday sonny, everday....

Jun 21, 06 9:23 pm  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?

today i drew two beautiful details. not that it's hot modern stuff but hey i figured some things out and made it work.

oh, the satisfaction !!

and i quit in nine days to begin anew ..

Jun 21, 06 9:47 pm  · 
 · 
R.A. Rudolph

well, i don't know that i've had an epiphany, but i do feel generally satisfied lately... being an architect has allowed me to start my own office - recently had a baby, work from home, and my husband is also at home building an addition to our house, which is pretty great when I think about the alternatives. of course, the work i'm doing right at this moment consists of drafting for a landscape architect (circles and squares, circles and squares) and doing an 88 sq.ft. addition, I kid you not, but that's the kind of thing you have to do to try and survive on your own.