Archinect
anchor

Is Architecture worth it?

Znaika

Questions to you all out there:

Is Architecture worth it? The education and the work afterwards?

What are the payoffs? What are the downfalls? 

I appreciate all feedback. Btw, I am a starting out architecture student. 

Mar 6, 12 8:50 pm
go do it

no it is not move to canada and be an electrician 

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2012/03/05/income-gap-oilsands-fort-mcmurray_n_1321666.html?ref=canada-business

Mar 6, 12 9:06 pm  · 
 · 
Znaika

Ha ha! But really....

I have been debating going into Transportation Design. How does that sound for an alternative? Thank you for the feedback! 

Mar 6, 12 9:18 pm  · 
 · 

Of course architecture is worth it.  Architects are quite cheap (sometimes practically free) and often add some good value to projects which helps their sale value.  

Definitely hire an architect, yo!

Mar 7, 12 8:49 am  · 
 · 

desna, I suggest you search these forums, we have debated this topic at length in the past.  You will find a wide range of opinions, from "do it, it's great" to "run for the hills, keep away" and everything in between.

Network and meet local architects in your area and have face to face meetings with them, ask what their experiences have been.  Call them up on the phone, introduce yourself and state why you are calling.  Some will meet with you, others will not, do not take it personally if they don't.

Also, try to find some recent grads who graduated within the last three years and inquire how are they doing?  What are they doing?  How much are they doing it for?  If you have student loans, your starting pay is a factor, not to mention paying rent.

The career path to becoming an architect is an arduous one which takes allot of time and money.   I think it is very smart and grounded of you to ask this question now and do your homework in this area, not just in the classroom.

Mar 7, 12 10:57 am  · 
 · 
theids