Archinect
anchor

Writing Samples/ Research papers for phd

I have a Masters degree in architecture from Texas A&M University and have 2 years work experience as an intern. I am looking to pursue a phd program (Building sciences and sustainability). I have read through many posts on this website and  through eligibility requirements for prospective phd students. The only requirement that I think I might fall behind on is that of writing samples and research papers. What exactly qualifies as a research paper? Since my graduate school courses have mostly been studio oriented, I do not really have any research papers relevant to my interest that I could directly use towards my application. Also my penchant for research in sustainability has been triggered only after my masters completion. I am willing to start writing a proposal for my research but do not have any existing samples. How would this affect my prospects? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Mar 4, 12 12:48 am
citizen

Some schools may want to know if you already have any skill and/or experience in original research.  Other programs just want a writing sample (not necessarily original research) to indicate your level of writing skill, on the reasonable expectation that they will be the one to train you in research.

So, without know anything more than you note above, I'd say you must submit a writing sample of excellent quality to at least demonstrate your ability to think, analyze, and clearly communicate.  Polish up to a high gloss one of your seminar papers, for example.  Or, if necessary, write something new-- a book review, or an opinion piece, or the like.  The PhD is about writing (in addition to research), and doing a lot of it.  If this stumps you and you can't produce something of high quality on demand (not necessarily an opus, but at least an essay on something of interest to you), you should reconsider the whole enterprise.