Archinect
anchor

For an upcoming job interview, should I... ?

g.thomas.z

So I have a question about an upcoming interview.

I'm a recent M.Arch grad living in Denver and I applied for an out-of-state intern position.  They have already contacted my references and want me to come out and interview in the next couple weeks.  The problem is they have not offered to pay for the flight or anything.  Is this something firms will typically pay for?  As a poor college grad, I am just wary of paying for a short-notice round trip flight, only to be rejected.  Is it bad etiquette to ask them to pay for my travel expenses?  Are there 15 other people that they also asked to fly out?

It sounds like a great opportunity, so I have no problem paying for the flight if that's what it come down to.  I'm just wondering if it's worth asking them to pay for some expenses?

Does anyone have experience with this?

Feb 16, 12 2:27 am
citizen

Good question, and not a common one.

Honestly, though, it's hard to imagine that interview travel expenses would be reimbursed for an entry-level position.

Feb 16, 12 11:28 am  · 
 · 
marmkid

I wouldnt ask, it might come across the wrong way.  To be honest, I dont know how you could really expect an architectural firm to fly you out for an interview, it just doesnt seem feasible.

Now perhaps if it was a higher level position, or if its a really large firm, and your 2nd or 3rd interview, maybe.  But for an entry level position, I wouldnt expect it at all. 

I think you are also overestimating how many people they are interviewing who need to fly in.

When i graduated, I knew i would be relocating about 3 hours away from where i was living at school, due to where my wife was living at the time.  It never even crossed my mind that for an entry level position, I would be able to get my trip paid for, and that would have just been a cheap train ticket, not a flight.