Archinect
anchor

limbo, or the post grad life

konkreet

I recently finished my undergrad this past December earning a B.S in Architectural Studies and little did I know that my degree would mean little in the real world. I hesitated this past application season to apply for graduate school but I am applying this coming Fall. So here I am, about 1.5yrs before beginning graduate school, if accepted, stuck in what I like to call limbo. 

Working in a firm seems almost impossible and accepting a non-paid internship is not quite possible as the grace period for my loans will soon come to a close. I've been applying to drafter positions, design associate positions, and even trying my luck at town planner positions (complete optimism). It has only been two months since I graduated and I've read stories about 6-month, 1yr, and longer individual droughts, but i'm beginning to accept the fact that I will have to take some kind of job that does not have anything to do with architecture much less design. 

My question is: what are similar experiences out there? How have people dealt with living in limbo not just after graduation but between jobs and possible career changes? And what do people suggest for someone to keep sharp who will be applying to graduate school next Fall that will not have any kind of architectural training between now and then?

Feb 14, 12 9:10 pm

I wonder if you know much about the day to day life or architectural practice right now - do you know anyone at all who can get you into a firm for a few days, not to work but to hang out as a sort of a shadower?  I advise you to make absolutely sure that getting a degree in this field is something you want to do, not based on ideas of what architecture is, but on what the reality of practice is for the foreseeable future.  A grad degree is a big investment - do it wisely.