Archinect
anchor

Magazine writer trying to identify the "leading" female architects today

kolorado

Hi, I'm a magazine writer/editor researching female architects for a major magazine.

I'm trying to identify a female architect to feature in a larger package about influential, inspiring women in design. This feature runs annually and last year, for example, we profiled Kazuyo Sejima of SANAA.

So far this year, I'm looking at people like:
”¢Â Farsheed Moussavi @ Foreign Office Architects
”¢Â Lise-Anne Couture w/Asymptote
”¢Â Hina Jamelle of Contemporary Architecture Practice.
”¢Â Monica Ponce de Leon of Office DA in Boston

Couple questions for you brilliant guys:

1) Which of these gets your vote for the woman most worthy of being singled out and celebrated in 2006? And WHY?

2) In most of these cases, their firms seem to have created a multitude of impressive, algorhythm-driven computer renderings, but few actual built buildings””which has raised the question: is their work actually buildable?

3) Is this buildability issue one of the big debates in the architecture world today?

4) Do you feel I've overlooked any equally worthy women? (Apart from Amanda Levete of Future Systems, and Lindy Roy, who've been covered before)

Please feel free to respond to any/all of these questions. Thanks

Apr 23, 06 2:50 pm
Medit

4) you should add Carme Pinós from Barcelona, Catalonia to your list

check out her work from the 1980's and 1990's -together with Enric Miralles- to discover how "impressive" and complex architecture is absolutely buildable

don't forget Zaha too

Apr 23, 06 3:07 pm  · 
 · 
lifeform
4) Do you feel I've overlooked any equally worthy women?

YES!

Lina Bo Bardi (Brasil)
Liz Diller (New York)
Carme Pinos (Barcelona)
Brigitte Shim (Toronto)
Shelia Kennedy (Boston)
Jennifer Siegal (Los Angeles)
Martha Schwartz - landscape architect (Boston)
Julie Bargman - landscape architect (Virginia)
to name only a few