Archinect
anchor

SCI-Arc : Is it true?

ethan.k

After visiting SCI-Arc, I decided to go to SCI-Arc with joy and excitement. But, I was told today that SCI-Arc has a problem with the school building(the owner didn't let the school buy the building and ,what is worse, is trying to kick them out???), and eventually has to move to a new place. Is this just rumor or true?? I am wondering what current students at SCI-Arc think of this....

Apr 20, 06 11:14 pm
RAArch

i believe they still have 10 yrs left on the lease, but after that all bets are off. so while what you heard is correct, it will probably not have any bearing on your time there.

Apr 20, 06 11:51 pm  · 
 · 
pomotrash

Don't worry about it. As a grad student I went through Beethoven, the Tent, and spent one semester in the new building...

you'll survive.

Apr 21, 06 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
re-evolve

The lease is for like another 19 years. I really wouldn't worry about it.

Apr 21, 06 2:14 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

sci-arc should remain nomadic...

Apr 21, 06 2:37 pm  · 
 · 
bUbBLe

that's what make SCI-Arc unique..

Apr 21, 06 6:44 pm  · 
 · 

"sci-arc should remain nomadic..."
"that's what make SCI-Arc unique.."

ditto&ditto

Apr 21, 06 7:14 pm  · 
 · 
architect1986

to update this 5 year old thread, sci arc just bought the building so its theirs for good.

Apr 20, 11 5:32 pm  · 
 · 

It certainly has not. If it has, it hasn't moved out of escrow yet. Unless it is a verified sale done through a change of ownership statement, I have no idea why a registered non-profit corporation would even try to sweep such a deal under the rug.

It was however in tax default owing approximately $35,100.17 to Los Angeles which was paid on February 2011. It currently is $9,982.13 behind on its second installment taxes which were due on April 11th.

Apr 20, 11 5:53 pm  · 
 · 
el jeffe