Archinect
anchor

GETTING A FOOT IN THE DOOR?

MrSim

Hello let me introduce myself, I'm a 31 year old M. Arch student, with intentions to work while in school. I have a Bachelors in a field outside of Architecture. I have a portfolio, resume, and have been trying to make as many contacts as I can along with applications. I know the economy is bad and employment for architects isn't in its best state.

But my question is how can a student, with no previous career/employment experience, get their foot in the door? Everyone had to start somewhere and some firm has to take a chance or else we would have a living profession.

I am seriously open to any and all suggestions.

Apr 21, 11 9:57 pm
Rusty!

Are you yet to start March? Because you won't have any time for part time jobs once in school. March is extremely time consuming. It's possible to hold other kinds of part time positions (TAing, service industry) but this would have to be kept at 15h/week or less.

As such, you are not of much use to an architecture firm. Even landing a free internship would be a stretch.

Instead try to concentrate on your work. If you build a really strong portfolio, that will help once you are available to join the work force. Also continue networking. 

Apr 21, 11 10:07 pm  · 
 · 
burningman

Best bet is depending on where you are, hopefully not a big city, is to stop into these offices personally and introduce yourself and see where that goes. Don't even bother sending them anything by mail/email until you've introduce yourself for the reasons rusty stated. I wouldn't even call them, just stop in...otherwise, you may likely be competing with other people your age who are already light years ahead of you.

Apr 21, 11 11:04 pm  · 
 · 
MrSim

Thanks a lot guys. To answer some questions. Yeah, I am currently an M.Arch student w/ a year under my belt. I just one, need an income, and two, need to get as much experience as I can get.