Archinect
anchor

DUMBO, Brooklyn

Axelle

bonjour-
I am a recent graduate of architecture [domus] looking to move into DUMBO, Brooklyn, where I have received an offer. Perhaps someone may have experience with architecture firms this area or simply the general atmosphere?
thank you.

Apr 12, 06 8:51 pm
Auguste Perret

DUMBO is basically the Brooklyn version of Chelsea. A lot of young professionals - artists, graphic designers and the like - have been moving to DUMBO for some time now. Gentrification is starting to show; high-rises and renovations are all over the place and the cost of living has increased dramatically. One of the reasons (among many) is that it's one stop from lower Manhattan.

Apr 12, 06 11:02 pm  · 
 · 
FOG Lite

Hmmm, I lived there about eight years ago. From what I hear it's changed considerably, for example, I don't think there were any architecture offices there back then. But I was recently in Williamsburg (close by) and it seemed quite nice actually. Seemed like it was full of young trendy folks and lots of them. I'm sure Dumbo has followed a similar path, my favorite thing about being there actually was going over to Brooklyn Heights or going for a stroll over to Manhattan on the Brooklyn bridge.

Apr 12, 06 11:17 pm  · 
 · 
FOG Lite

I paid $300 for a share in a huge loft, probably no longer possible huh?

Apr 12, 06 11:18 pm  · 
 · 
Auguste Perret

$300?!?! Wow! My friend pays $900 with two other people for a loft, maybe 1600 sq ft.

Apr 12, 06 11:22 pm  · 
 · 
liznieve

dumbo, aesthetically, is wonderful. old factories, still gritty, not mallified. although i supposed definitely commercialized. the streets are all belgian block, the old tracks of the street cars are still embedded in the sidewalks. although there is certainly the yuppie presence with expensive design shops, cafes, etc etc

it feels sufficiently industrial to be interesting, but is finished enough to be comfortable.