Archinect
anchor

MLA - MARCH

tofuloaf

Greetings,

I have an MLA degree from Cornell and have been working for almost 4 years in the philly area.

I am considering going back to grad school for an MARCH. Does anyone here have an opinion on whether having both degrees really makes sense - both in terms of career/salary and specialization within the field?

I am interested in owning my own interdisciplinary firm many years down the line. But within the next decade or so, i feel that having both dgrees will enable me to rock the world.

i guess thats what i really want to do - rock the world.

any advice?

Apr 6, 06 12:44 pm
treekiller

GO for it!!! Cornell is great start...

So far - at one year out- i seem to have gotten a $5k boost with the dual degrees, but that also could have been my extensive design background...

WRT would be very happy to hire you after getting an MArch. they tried really hard to recruit me for an internship while I was getting my M.LA/M.Arch at penn.

We need more dual landscrapers/architects out there to rock the world. Cornell is great start.... The dual degrees give you an advantage in dealing with sustainability issues - the best person to design a vegitated roof and dealing with other stormwater issues to start.

You may be able to get a dual march/mla in the same two years that some of the marchII programs willl require.

Apr 6, 06 1:39 pm  · 
 · 
olaf

Marquard, I have the exact same interest as you and had asked a similar question in a past blog. I think it was titled “Arch and Landscape Arch” if you do a search.

From what I gathered some people think it is great, while others think you become the token “planter” in an Arch office or “pavilion designer” in a landscape office. I personally haven’t looked too much into what it would take, but I would assume (as treekiller stated) that it hopefully would take two years or less, depending on the program.