Archinect
anchor

MacBook Air plus SketchUp Pro/Layout for residential work?

jeiffert

Looking for some feedback...

I'm an active sole-practitioner architect, but probably not too many years before retirement time.  My current (and anticipated) practice consists entirely of residential work, including custom homes, remodels, and specialty (not tract) builder work.  I've gotten by with my manual drawing skills so far, but would like to take a small step into the world of technology.

Considering getting a MacBook Air and Google SketchUp Pro w/Layout.  I realize this isn't the typical powerful workstation and advanced software that most of you might prefer, but it seems like it would cover the bases for my purposes.  I plan to use the MacBook for client presentations (I do a lot of house calls), and would add a large display, standard keyboard and mouse for use in my home office.

I anticipate using SketchUp Pro for design development and modeling work, and then transitioning this work into Layout for construction documents.  I would probably continue to do my conceptual design work  manually.  I've used older versions of SketchUp in the past, and found it fairly easy and intuitive to use.  But, at this point, I'm not inclined to try to master AutoCad, Revit, ArchiCad, etc.

Anyone here using/used SketchUp Pro/Layout?  Any thoughts about how well it might work as I intend to use it?  (My current computer won't support the current SketchUp software, otherwise I'd just download the free demo program and see how well it works out.  That's why I'm also planning on the MacBook Air at this time.)

Jan 30, 12 8:55 pm
Lackey

why air?  That's not much computer for how much money it is, not much at all.

Sketchup should suit you fine, never used layout before although I do have it.

Jan 31, 12 10:32 pm  · 
 · 
postal