Archinect
anchor

Anyone know anything* about the University of Oregon School of Architecture department?

soulikeit

* see no swear words, Steven ward

Mar 30, 06 9:28 am
Cameron

they have a website, google links to them... joking aside. it is a pretty good school and their annual lecture symposium is kind of funky.

are you using archinect to research all the schools in the US and UK? in addition to odd threads about the British?

Mar 30, 06 10:20 am  · 
 · 
rothko67

yes. what do yo want to know?

Mar 30, 06 12:04 pm  · 
 · 
garywg

I graduated from U of Oregon in 2003 with a B.Arch....

Are there anything particular you wanna know about the program?

The program bases in the Eugene campus and has a building in downtown Portland for the Urban Design/Architecture program. As a student, you are free to select if taking your studio in PDX or in Eugene. Faculty-wise, profs in PDX has more practical experience and better crit connections. While I feel profs in Eugene are more academic base. Portland and Eugene is approx. 100 miles apart....and both programs are actually belong to the same Architecture Dept... close connections between 2 campus but just running at different locations.

Oregon is also good at its landscape architecture and interior architecture as well. Architecture students are free to take any classes from those department (for selective courses). I myself earned a minor of Landscape Architecture, which I found quite self enriching.

Travel aboard program: Rome Program is a very popular summer program, so is the Denmark International Studies program. They have a summer Kyoto Landscape program. I took 2 summer studio in Denmark and in Kyoto...they are all facinating.