Archinect
anchor

Help needed

ismd

Hello All
I am a new member of Archinect. I am an Architect from India. I was working as a freelance Architect there.I am currently in USA on an H4 Visa. I have a few questions
# In order to get employment in US what procedure do I need to follow?
# What can be the possible options as a professional?
# Is it compulsory for me to complete any formal education from US in order to work here?
# Are there any online courses?
# Do I have to give the ARE and what will be the chances for me to get any job options?

Thanks all for being patient

Mar 22, 06 6:39 pm

1. Talk to immigration. They'll know a lot better than us.
2. work on your own, or work for a firm.
3. No. But it may be for licensing. Check with the state you're living in and interested in getting licensed in.
4. Not good ones.
5. No, but you'll get paid a lot better if you do take and pass it. The requirements can be complex depending on where you are though, so check with your local architect's board. It would seem to me that a licensed professional is always more hireable than an unlicensed person, esp. with no US education. Taking the ARE might make people question your education level less, but depending on how hard it is (IDP, education requirements, etc.) in your state, it may or may not be worth it for you.

Mar 22, 06 7:07 pm  · 
 · 
sameolddoctor

welcome to archinect ismd. rationalist is right, its best to consult a immigration lawyer first. Being on an H1 visa myself, i dont think its possible for you to work on a h4 visa. I might be wrong, but yes, its best to consult a professional.