Archinect
anchor

Technical Pens

Help I Think I've Lost My Rhino

Hey Guys I've decided Its time (I'm a student) to invest in some proper technical pens, as i've realised the disposable ones I am currently using are not economical in the long run and do not seem to be as consistent as refillables. Ialos enjoy technical drawing, its probably one of the strongest parts of my portfolio. My problem is the market seems to contain several similar products. Anyone know which is best?Rotring?Rapidograph or Isograph? Or Faber Castell? I've even seen Staedtler do some. Any help would be much appreciated.

Mar 21, 06 3:17 pm
liberty bell

Is this serious? Do students still need technical pens and even more curious do companies still make them?!

OK if you are serious: I'm with OF, Rapidograph always worked best for me, inlcuding when I worked for <name-drop warning> Ron Krueck and we bought their tiniest, smallest, hair thin size pen to draw - I kid you not - one line on a competition entry.

If you are buying the pens also buy the supersonic cleaning machine (jeez, really?? Do they really still make this stuff?!?) because proper cleaning is essential if you want them to last longer than one or two lines.

But honestly, technical pens simply won't last that long because they are such delicate instruments. It reminds me of a friend of mine who asked (rhetorically) how she could make the stockings she had to wear to work last longer? My answer: leave them at home in the drawer.

Mar 21, 06 4:34 pm  · 
 · 
crillywazzy

liberty: sadly he's not joking... we were required to buy a set of rapidographs in our first year. they try at every opportunity to force us off the computers and on to the mayline just in case 1983 happens again. my tablemate swears i'm some kind of dick for designing with a computer when clearly making models and hand-drawing and inking plans over and over again is the superior method. go figure...