Archinect
anchor

Are these vile and odious lies?

Apurimac
http://www.nydailynews.com/03-14-2006/front/story/399554p-338437c.html

Above is a link to an article concerning itself with our profession in regards to ABC's new "Bachelor" search. The show is irrelevant though, because reading this seems to indicate that all professional architects are closet case homosexuals who would rather sit at home and sketch utter crap than go out and enjoy themselves. I'm new to this game of architecture (I'm still a student), so I have to ask the question, are we really as bad as popular culture would make us out to be?

The obvious answer I think is no, of course not. I know we work hard and long hours, we sacrifice, we do things "normal" people would consider insane but that's because we're passionate people, and passionate people do crazy things. I've heard of the arrogance that is prevalent in our profession, but, not to sound like a total ass, don't we kind of deserve to be a little arrogant about our work? In the same way a doctor would be about his/her work perhaps? Doesn't being an architect afford the ability to make functional, beautiful space/buildings? If so, why must we keep our mouths shut about it all the time? If any punk off the street can throw some wallpaper up and buy a Corbu chaise lounge and consider themselves a "designer" what the hell am i working so hard for then? That's almost as bad as a man performing surgery on himself.