Archinect
anchor

Architect salary

swisscardlite

I know I overthink this way too much because I can't imagine myself doing anything other than architecture and know that money is not a priority in life. But people complain so much about low pay that it really becomes a concern if it's that bad.

What I really want to know though is really how bad the pay is. Is the salary REALLY that low? I mean, compared to most professions out there, the divide is not as bad as say, an artist to a business person. And yeah I would probably agree that the first 5 years pays low but to my observations, the pay seems to rise dramatically after that. People with more than 10 years of experience seem to be doing quite well financially (from salary poll).

as a high school student, i'm not sure how much 50k really is. Is it very low? Is it survivable? Architects, do you think the experience you get by working as an architect is worth the low wages that you get? After all, if you're really doing what you enjoy doing, then money probably isn't as big as a problem. If I enjoy what I'm doing, I really could care less how much I earn. But of course I want to be able to live, and perhaps start a family one day.

i would like to see this whole thing as a process. First 5-10 years probably isn't what most people expect as fun but it's part of the process required in order for you to design right? No one can design a building until he or she has enough experience in the design field.

And do salaries differ for intern architects? Is there a difference in salary if you're licensed rather than unlicensed?

the salary hopefully can't be that bad if I get a b.arch from cornell and take business courses there as well (with hard work of course) right? I also plan on being a licensed architect but maybe that's too far for me to consider now.

Mar 11, 06 9:49 pm
Janosh