Archinect
anchor

Wash U in St. Louis

MArch n' unemployed

just heard i got in. anyone else apply and hear yet? and does anyone have any opinions of the school? i mean its a top 10 undergrad school, but i've heard mixed things about the MArch program. anyone here a student there already?

thanks in advance and good luck to everyone as april 1 approaches!

Mar 6, 06 6:31 pm
RankStranger

I went there a while ago for undergrad. I hear it's come leaps and bounds since then. Then it was very theory, very schematic, very little constructability (none infact), or the typical real world stuff. When I first got out of school I was a little pissed that I learned what a wall section was in my last semester and only because our visiting professor from Argentina (who was excellent by the way) was so dumbfounded that we didn't really know what he was talking about. Now, I'm kind of happy it was the way it was. I had all the time in the world to learn that stuff after I graduated while getting paid for it. I'm sure the MArch (especially now) is much different. A new facility of combined Art & Architecture programs designed by Fuhimito (sp?) Maki should be ready for moving in for next fall as well. And actually, I'm heading to see Ben Van Berkel speak there right now. Any of that help?

Mar 6, 06 7:44 pm  · 
 · 
MArch n' unemployed

it did, thanks. when you say awhile what's that? i know a few people who graduated in 2000...after that?

may i also ask, are you living in st. louis currently? do you find that living/working there is enjoyable/challenging?

thanks for the info

Mar 6, 06 7:49 pm  · 
 · 
colinrichardson

dude!
i just got my letter.... i wish i had some information to share with you, i mostly just have the same questions. i'll keep checking on this thread

Mar 6, 06 8:56 pm  · 
 · 
Shellaby

I just received an acceptance letter today too - how exciting! I've only heard great things about this school's Masters program.

Mar 6, 06 9:02 pm  · 
 · 
AP