Archinect
anchor

Summer session - UCLA

frisbee pirata

I'm an undergrad at UCLA now and just registered for the Jump-Start Arch program, is anyone else here doing it? Let me know..
Paul

Mar 4, 06 3:16 am
deshi

i'm an undergrad at UCLA right now too (2nd year) and i'm also signed up for the summer arch program. We should talk.

Anyone else?

Mar 6, 06 3:39 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

I TA'd it last year. Does that help?

Mar 6, 06 4:17 pm  · 
 · 
deshi

garpike - could you give us some info about the program itself? anything will do. thanks!

Mar 6, 06 7:29 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

Last year was the first summer of the Jump Start program. Before that the program was intended for entering Masters of Architecture I students without much architecture experience. The Jump Start program caters to no specific age or skill level. We had one student who turned 18 during the first week! And a few in the over 40 non-traditional looking to try a new career. Most of the students, however, fell into your category (deshi and frisbee) of the still-in-undergrad group. A little less than 1/3 were the entering masters.

Along with two friends of mine, we TA'd the representation course. For that course the students started with lots of hand drawing. And then covered the basics of some 2d software - just a taste. Hand drawing comes first! The students also learned Rhino, a 3d program, and part of the course required the students to build their projects in 3d space. The course culminated in a portfolio which they could use to apply to grad schools.

The studio course jumped right into design - and right into studio critiques. The critiques were a lot of fun - well, for most of us. Almost all of the students hadn't been in a situation like that, which scared a few, but overall they managed well.