Archinect
anchor

How do you design a building?

archinewbie

I realize that seems like an absurdly open ended question but I am a new architecture student in my first year barch, accepted to school for the spring semester of my freshman year and I am feeling already behind all the other students in my class who were here in the fall. I am struggeling with where to begin what is the order of things to figure out? the form or the stucture? what are the codes?

I'm not looking for a specific solution but if anyone can offer suggestions of ways to approach or organize there thoughts and work would be greatly appriciated. Thanks.

Mar 1, 06 1:51 am
tagalong

I would say start with an idea of what you want the building to accomplish. Develop a thesis and weigh the design decisons against whether or not they strengthen or weaken the thesis of the desired result.

Mar 1, 06 1:56 am  · 
 · 
A Center for Ants?

architecture is one of those things where it's extremely iterative. you just have to start going and addressing things one step at a time. then take a step back and see what's working/not. analyze and rework. until the deadline is up. or you run out of money.

take the plunge. you won't get it right the first time around.

Mar 1, 06 2:31 am  · 
 · 
e909

i've never designed a building (though i've partially "designed" included utility components.)

with design or any task (repairing something, even) i
1 begin with basics: existing to be kept and functions.
2 keep alt ideas to the side, pursue the best. check and crosscheck.
everything sorts out during the process.

Mar 1, 06 2:57 am  · 
 · 
e909

maybe also useful: it's often suggested in math that one work on a much simplified problem, then addin the complexities.

Mar 1, 06 2:58 am  · 
 · 
aseid

dude you are a first year b arch

you have no business designing buildings,

design the strategies you will eventually use to design buildings

develop you tools and techniques and mastery of mediums