Archinect
anchor

Need examples of community based design

Gabe Bergeron

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to Archinet, but encouraged by the range of discussions. I wanted to see if people had some suggestions for interesting community based design projects from throughout the world. I'm looking for the following in preparation for a research proposal:

1. Examples of contemporary / current projects that have had a signifigant amount of input from local community members and/or collaborative design groups.

2. Examples of current projects that make use of volunteer involvement.

3. Examples of community based projects or projects with a signifigant level of shared authorship from history.

Any thoughts or discussion on the value of local input in design efforts is also appreciated.

Feb 19, 06 12:16 pm
Philarch

Welcome to Archinect...I'm relatively new to this website as well. I mentioned this in another thread, but the Community Design Collaborative (CDC) based in Philadelphia might be a good resource for you. All the work is volunteered service from professionals in the design/engineering/construction field given to non-profit organizations that can not afford such professionals. They've even sponsored a competition to spread the word about pro-bono work and green/sustainable building technology (what a great combination) to students. They have many examples of their projects so you can take a look.

Feb 19, 06 4:24 pm  · 
 · 
lekizz

Byker Wall in Newcastle, England, is a famous example of an early collaborative project by Ralph Erskine. The design team also set up an office on site as a drop-in community centre for the residents.

Feb 19, 06 5:57 pm  · 
 · 
nightrain

Good Deeds, Good Design (Princeton Architectural Press/Amazon) is a good source book with a variety of approaches. Studio at Large is the work done at U Washington with some good examples too.

Feb 19, 06 8:11 pm  · 
 · 
Gabe Bergeron

Grand,