Archinect
anchor

mac 3d design software

sap

I am a graphic designer that has been getting into furniture design. I currently do everything in Illustrator. Is there a program that I can use with illustrator to get 3d renderings of my objects?

Jun 29, 04 3:56 pm
Dan

maya is the most advanced 3d software for the mac. I'm not quite sure what you mean by "to get 3d renderings of my objects", but you could probably import the splines from AI into Maya and start from there.

Jun 29, 04 4:08 pm  · 
 · 
webb

depends on what you mean by using illustrator to get 3d renderings of your objects. you could take the vector information from line drawings in illustrator to help start a 3d model, but you'd have to build alot in whatever modelling program you use. but I don't think there are any plugins that would make an ai file render in 3d.

as far as software goes, I'd strongly recommend formZ version 4 for a mac. rhino is great also, but it's pc only, and you're going to get alot of people telling you to use maya, but using maya to model something you've already designed is a nightmare- I'd strongly urge you not to try it. formZ 4 is a great piece of software, and usually what people learn first in architecture school, but anything is going to be tough to learn, so you might want to think about taking a class (with the amount of time you'd save, it would be completely worth it).

good luck.

Jun 29, 04 4:15 pm  · 
 · 
bryan boyer

I've been importing splines from illustrator into Cinema 4D and it works fairly well. Most 3d apps will import AI or at least dxf (which illustrator can export). I found the learning curve for Cinema 4d to be lower than Maya. Cinema is a very capable 3d app that will serve the needs of most users unless you need to get into dynamics, which Maya is much better for.

I've heard that a lot of furniture people use SolidWorks and Form Z. Personally, I think the learning curve on Form Z is insane but, like Maya, it's really powerful too.