Archinect
anchor

Issues facing emerging professionals: what's most important to you?

Murrye

Hey guys,

I'm the editor for a national publication directed towards emerging professionals (interns, etc.) and I'm in the process of coming up with topics for this year's issues. Though I'm an intern myself and can think of many things from personal experience, what are some issues that you would like to read more about? ARE + IDP concurrency? Alternative careers? Let me know what is important to you.
Thanks!

Feb 3, 06 9:31 am
sporadic supernova

"Show me the Money !!!"

Feb 3, 06 9:34 am  · 
 · 
Murrye

lol i'm with you on that!

Feb 3, 06 9:45 am  · 
 · 
FRO

how about ARE, IDP, and some degree of creative independence concurrently?

Feb 3, 06 9:46 am  · 
 · 
SuperHeavy

I use the title 'architect' when at bars picking up women. I'm not registered though, will that get me a lawsuit?

-increased sexiness (both perceived and real) of the architecture profession.

Feb 3, 06 10:38 am  · 
 · 
kerfuffle

my vote is for concurrent IDP + ARE... but i feel very strongly that all architects need at least some construction experience before they get licensed - either CA or actual construction work.

also -

-professional development or lack thereof in various size offices
-the political impotancy of the AIA
-architect's fees and why they have gotten so low (related to compensation).
-why don't they teach management/leadership courses to architecture students? why are so many architects bad managers of their staff? what can we (as young professionals) do about it?

-to

Feb 3, 06 10:55 am  · 
 · 
liberty bell

If you look at "emerging professionals" as being beyond interns to young architects starting their own practice, I can tell you issue number one: health insurance. It is the one major barrier to me being a truly successful small practice vs. one that is scraping by with a lower quality of life than most of my carpenters.