Archinect
anchor

Easygoing Critiques

RKTechture

I'm a relatively new architecture student, in my second undergrad studio. I enjoyed the crits from hell thread a little while back, but it got me thinking. Everything i've had so far seems more about nodding in agreement with the student; not too much challenging by the professors or fellow students, kind of just suggesting things rather than grilling students on their design process. I'm curious if this is the sign of a bad architecture school and/or faculty, or is it because it is low level stuff at this point, more about getting basic concepts across?

Jan 27, 06 7:42 pm
m_s

move to a better school
definitely not nearly enough schadenfreude

by far

Jan 27, 06 8:12 pm  · 
 · 
mpsyp

I would be a little worried if students aren't getting much criticism. Profs and critics don't have to be mean to be effective. There's a lot to be learned from questioning a student's approach. Maybe they're taking it easy on you for now... or maybe you'll get a guest critic out of the blue that'll tear you a new one...

mpsyp

Jan 27, 06 8:12 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

Anyone who leaves arch school with their original a-hole didn't get their moneys worth.

Jan 28, 06 12:33 pm  · 
 · 
sporadic supernova

Easygoing Critiques ???!!

You mean .. there is something like that ?? wow ...

Jan 29, 06 12:32 am  · 
 · 
pia555

Yeah, Nothing will prepare you more for the real world of back stabbing contractors and know-it-all clients. In other words it's meant to thicken your skin.

Jan 29, 06 8:44 am  · 
 · 
trace™

I don't think I've every had a design class, out of 20 design classes in architecture, where there wasn't someone seriously on the verge of crying. That's not always the faults of the critics, either. Much of the time it's the realization by the student (in some cases, myself) that their project was mediocre at best and that so much time, so many nights, did not produce a spectacularly successful design.