Archinect
anchor

San Francisco: Internship Help

vman

Dear Archinecters,

I have been searching fruitlessly for an internship with a design-oriented architecture firm in San Francisco. I have just finished applying to three-year M.Arch. programs and would love to gain professional experience in the field before I begin this fall.

My background is in Visual Arts and Art History (BA 2002, New College of Florida, www.ncf.edu), and this past summer I was a student in UCLA's Jumpstart: Introduction to Architecture program. In addition to serving as a firefighter for three years during college, I have extensive studio and administrative assistance experience.

My graduate admissions portfolio can be found by clicking here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/10534456@N00/sets/72057594051001429/

Any advice, recommendations, wisdom, or leads are greatly appreciated...

Thank you very much for your time.

-Jonathan

Jan 23, 06 5:58 pm
mad+dash

check out the aia sf website as well as checking if you can post on their website ( other aia sites allow you to). try craigslists too.

if you could work on your cad and graphics skills in the mean time that would also help a lot.

good luck.

Jan 24, 06 6:42 pm  · 
 · 
vman

Thanks for your response.

I check the AIASF site and craigslist daily. I am pretty proficient with Illustrator and Photoshop but have no experience with cad.

I know that I could somehow creatively contribute to an architecture firm but I am not an architect and have had minimal training (drafting and studio 1 at ucla) in the field.

Is it common for folks like myself to somehow intern at an arch. firm without "knowing someone"?

Jan 24, 06 9:18 pm  · 
 · 
mad+dash