Archinect
anchor

Were to work abroad...MoneyWise $$$

Gotan

Hello!

( intro: THis is like my gap year. I quitted the job, let go the flat.
I am currently backpacking in thailand. Portfolio ready after theses few weeks of gettaway and I am looking for a place to settle down to practice the arts of architecture. Where ?

I would like to go get a better salary than back home and surf a construction boom somewhere....

I have about 4 yrs of experience in project design...

Ideas:
Dubai?
Shanghai?
Vancouver?
Switzerland?

or
Singapour?

Thanks!

JS

Jan 23, 06 7:11 am
sporadic supernova

Come to dubai .... dont forget the complimentry barf bag !!!

damn ... i'm trying to get out of this hell hole !!!

Jan 23, 06 8:08 am  · 
 · 
LightMyFire66

Why are you barfing?

Jan 23, 06 4:33 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

most places you got supply your own bag...

Jan 23, 06 7:37 pm  · 
 · 
Gotan

thanks guys for talking shit,

Please could you just talk seriously.

I have been to Dubai...Amazing things are happening there even though if it has a root-of-evil-we-all-won-the-lottery- kind of way.

But for architects it is consedirably an amazing moment going on there.

Jan 24, 06 2:14 am  · 
 · 
meta

vancouver i would say. a lot has been happening in there in recent times. can`t support it with facts, sorry.

Jan 24, 06 9:02 am  · 
 · 
Reemy

go to bahrain.. next to dubai,a lot of new projects are being built.

Jan 24, 06 11:45 am  · 
 · 
A

Dubai may be booming but first look into where the architecture firms doing the designs are from. I know of one large American firm that has a London office doing nearly 100% of their work in the middle east. Same goes for a lot of China work. If you want the big paycheck you'll have to find a western city to work in.

Look into New Orleans. They've got plenty of rebuilding to do and lots of gov't money to pay for it. I like those odds.

Jan 24, 06 12:57 pm  · 
 · 
ret

Get an MBA or something, then you won't have to worry about moving!