Archinect
anchor

SUNY Buffalo B.Arch.

ky11

I was just admitted to Buffalo (still awaiting letters from Cornell and Syracuse). I would like to know how their architecture program is. Is the course rigorious? Is it easy to get a job as a Buffalo graduate? Would it be difficult to get into a good M.Arch program?

Jan 21, 06 3:16 pm
swisscardlite

SUNY buffalo isn't as reputable as Cornell or Syracuse but it is probably far cheaper. I hear their dean was a cornell architecture alumni.
but i hear buffalo is a run down place...are you from new york? you seem to be aiming for schools only in new york

personally i'd choose cornell or syracuse over buffalo..but i'm only a high school student so don't listen to me.

Jan 22, 06 2:51 am  · 
 · 
seventieskid

UB doesn't have a huge reputation (yet?), but it's undergraduate program is solid. I graduated a little over three years ago and it was a good experience. You asked if the program is rigorous- it's architecture school -of course it is!:) Studios are open 24-7 and you'll definitely have enough work to keep you there 24-7. I didn't have any problems with getting into the M. Arch program of my choice. From my graduating class, a few of my classmates went to Columbia, a pair of us went to SCI-arc and the rest were scatterred between UB grad, VT, PENN, Michigan, Parsons, Arizona, Chicago, RISD and working full time (generally in Western NY or NYC). It all comes down to what you make of it and how much you're willing to invest in your work. I don't know what your particular interests are but there are defintely pluses and minuses depending on what you are looking for (i.e. cost, time spent acquiring a professional degree, the type of architecture that you're interested in, etc). But definitely check out the faculty (Frank Fantauzzi and Mehrdad Hadigi for example) - it'll give you a good idea of what the school is up to.

Jan 22, 06 6:42 am  · 
 · 
Janosh

Is Kent Kleinman still there? He's a freaking genius.