Archinect
anchor

Job hunting is it ok to ask...?

raiseitup

I've just graduated and I'm searching for a job position in an architecture firm right now. I've never worked for an architecture firm before and wanted to know how I should approach this job hunting business.

Should I send off my resume? Or would you suggest that I go in person and ask if firms have positions available?

During the interview process, would it be advisable for me to express my interest in becoming a license architect, and would like my supervisors to sign off my IDP? or is this unnecessary?

Can I ask about health benefits?

Also I am a fall graduate so I still need to complete a course during the Spring, which requires me to take one day off of work during the weekdays. So do you think firms are flexible with schedules? What are my chances of getting a job with a schedule like that?

Lastly, I've heard from fromer classmates that some firms require employees to sign contracts. To sign/not sign?

Thanks

Jan 5, 06 8:18 pm
A

I can only advise from my own experience and what worked for me. Send a resume with a personally written cover letter. The cover letter is where you can explain what you are looking for, notably be up front about your last college course. Follow up with phone calls in 2 +/- weeks. I've never had success with cold calls and pounding the pavement, although others swear by it. I've always been told to check the website for info on applying, or they kindly take my resume and put it promptly in the round file.

In an interview it's ok to ask about benefits and IDP. I'm sure you won't need to ask about the benefit plan as it's a major thing for most people. Do note that taking one day off per week could make you part-time and ineligible for benefits at some firms. Definately tell them your goals of getting licensed. If you don't get a positive response to that run from there.