Archinect
anchor

Christian Norberg-Schulz

sumatra

I was browsing several sites of US universities (I graduated from an European university) and I didn't see anywhere the name of Norberg-Schulz in the recommended readings sections? When I think of it, it turns out that few of his books are translated in English (the ones that i have are in French). While I was studying (which was not long time ago) his works were mandatory and we considered him as very important. Is it different in US?

Jan 4, 06 8:00 am
rebelliousz_poet

i came across him while i was studying in rome for a semester... not once was he ever mentioned at my school... but i did attend a lecture where he was mentioned at cooper union... i just can't help but think about public spaces in the us vs. europe... ahh gotta go...

Jan 4, 06 9:22 am  · 
 · 
jcboley

I was in grad school at UIC in Chicago at the height of the postmodern/deconstruction phase. CN-S was dismissed by some as old-fashioned, 'structuralist' thought, modern and scientific, and therefore prejudiced. i found reading 'Meaning in Western Architecture' a revelation. CN-S connected architecture and meaning with culture, place, and time, and gave me a context for seeing and understanding architecture that I use in design and teaching every day.

I've seen MIWA and Intentions in Architecture translated into English. There may be more.

Jan 4, 06 9:59 am  · 
 · 
evangelicalbunny

Dear Friends,

Christian Norberg-Schulz has passed away. About five years ago, I think.

With Love!

eb

Jan 4, 06 10:09 am  · 
 · 
frenchcurls