Archinect
anchor

Cutting sections through 'Blobby' stuff

6nuew

I'm a noob to 'blobitecture'.. not very inclined to it either but I want to be able to handle blobs anyway... so how do you cut sections through deformed surfaces etc once you've modeled em in Rhino/Max? Sections that can be imported into Autocad and fleshed out..

And while we're on the topic: Is Blobitecture dead? I think Greg Lynn and Co. have lived out their fifteen minutes.. Blobjects live on though (Karim Rashid et al).

Danke

Jan 3, 06 11:33 am
momentum

i've only been able to do this one way, and it is kinda convoluted (from Max). keep in mind, i generally don't do "blobs."

whatever geometry you have in max, turn it into a single object of some kind, and then apply a slice modifier to it.

from there export the file in some sort of autocad compatible format (i can't remember which it is.)

open it up in cad/microstation, and rotate it till you get the section lined up with the view.

draw away.

Jan 3, 06 11:50 am  · 
 · 
6nuew

I dont do 'blobs' either.. this is for landscaping. Same principles.. anyone else? Rhino?

Jan 3, 06 11:59 am  · 
 · 
montu

Every program sophiticated enough to define a warped surface has some way of taking a section at a discreet point

Jan 3, 06 12:16 pm  · 
 · 
cgrammens

Rhino has a built in it section. Draw a plane where you would like to cut the section. Then type section into rhino follow the prompts and you will get line work of you model. You can also use split and divide the model along the plane then use make 2D and rhino will make an orthangonal drawing based on the view.

Jan 3, 06 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
cgrammens

Sorry for the first sentence,

should say Rhino has a built in section tool.

Jan 3, 06 1:23 pm  · 
 · 
ret

cgrammens's way is the easiest and fastest.