Archinect
anchor

Laser-CAMM / CNC outsourcing for furniture/products, prices?

impalajunkie

I have some pieces i'm finishing up in rhino that'll I'll need Cammed/CNC's/cut out, has anyone outsourced this before and what do the typically charge?

Nov 21, 05 2:36 pm
garpike

Do you live near a major university?

Nov 21, 05 2:42 pm  · 
 · 
impalajunkie

Yes, the one i graduated from has a CAMM, but won't cut wood of that thickness and size. :(

Nov 21, 05 2:46 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

Hmmm... what city are you in? If it is large, you could get competitive rates. Also, a really important quest: Are you doing 2D cuts? Or 3D forms?

Nov 21, 05 2:54 pm  · 
 · 
impalajunkie

all the cuts will be 2D. it is a 3d object that will be made from 2-d cut panes of plywood, all nothced together. smilar to this Jakob+Macfarlane project:
http://mapage.noos.fr/jmac/ENloewy.htm

Nov 21, 05 4:10 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

Nice!

Well, 2d will definitely save you some dough, but I can't really give you an estimate out of the blue. Signmakers often use cnc for 2d cutting. You may want to look to a signmaker in your area that may be trying to make a little cash on their machine.

Nov 21, 05 4:24 pm  · 
 · 
impalajunkie

good idea! thanks

Nov 21, 05 4:26 pm  · 
 · 
Per Corell

Hi

This is a very nice design and also an interesting discussion about why 2D seem to deliver much better than 3D routing , Still what I would like to see, is a real section lattrice following none of the tradisional planes and where shelves are cut out of the woven structure , --- I find it handy that you can use the shelves as they are ,but you could acturly subtract for shelves in a 3D-H lattrice.

Just emagine how boring this would be, if sections was just following the tradisional 3 planes ;

Nov 21, 05 5:39 pm  · 
 · 
art tech geek

You might try to check in a local B2B phone directory. best machine match depends on material to cut and tolerances. Also Thomas Register.