Archinect
anchor

entry level architectural designer, gensler or nbbj?

hggh

I was a past intern at gensler, and will be probably back as a formal employee after graduation. Meanwhile, I got a nbbj interview chance. The experience I had in gensler was extremely wonderful, with the exception of their work is more about interior or small scale which is not my type. Maybe I was doing my intern at a wrong branch of gensler.

Which firm is good for an entry level designer? Any comments or experience on these two firms? or even other big corps like SOM, KPF? working environment? quality? learning chances?

Nov 26, 11 1:10 pm
Quentin

Be glad you have job offers, more than one, at that....

#jealous

:-/

Nov 26, 11 7:30 pm  · 
 · 
Rasa

Just wondering, which Gensler office did you intern in? Is the NBBJ office the same place too?

Nov 26, 11 8:03 pm  · 
 · 
Urbanist

I think gensler's supposed to be the most profitable firm this year ... Beat us out for that distinction. I'd say consider going back. You can always look into moving literally within the firm at some futur point, to see a wider variety of building/project types.

Nov 26, 11 10:45 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

My first job after graduation was with SOM -SF. The experience was "post grad school" I quickly learned a lot in the year and a half I was there and would definitely recommend SOM. We worked on a lot of large projects that will give you a serious workout. They have a great online learning system, and support IDP. How good is your knowledge of Metric? 1/2 of the projects I worked on were in China, India and the Middle East.

Nov 26, 11 11:09 pm  · 
 · 
med.

Gensler has deep roots in interiors and many of the offices have multiple interior studios.