Archinect
anchor

-Writing- an RFP....advice?

snorkler

I am a planner/landscape architect who is involved in writing RFPs right now, and am curious if anyone has advice on how to proceed.  I work for an institutional client, and we are working on various projects involving architecture, planning, transportation, and landscape.  For large capital projects, we have other departments who write and procure work for us.  But for "small" projects, i.e., with design fees less than $60k, we're on our own.  I've responded to enough of these while working as a consultant that I have a pretty good idea of how to proceed, but I've managed enough projects now to understand that the client/consultant relationship is not an exact mirror image....there are all sorts of nuances and loss of perspective that take place when you switch from one side to another.  So with that said....

* Any actual books, articles, online resources that people can recommend?

* We would love to include the target budget for each project, but we just aren't allowed to do it.   How can we provide enough information so you can give an intelligent, meaningful estimate of the cost of your services?  We try to outline the number of meetings expected, the type of project, final deliverables, and the number of square feet involved.  But we do sometimes get back bids which are wildly off-base.

Having asked for that, let me offer some free advice for responding: