Archinect
anchor

CONTEMPORARY VS. TRADITIONAL SCHEMAS IN ARCHITECTURE

rigor mortis

I'm currently doing a thesis about a school which specializes in art education for a minority group particularly in Ifugao, Philippines. The study aims to promote the culture and the arts of that ethnic group (e.g. traditional woodcarving, weaving, dancing, etc.) by providing trainings for young Ifugao children and high schoolers and at the same time cultivating the artistic talents of the tribal people.

I want the design to be sensitive to the culture of the people but at the same time I want to open up new horizons to the budding artists who will be my primary users by giving them something new which will help them to maximize their potentials.

I'm so confused. I don't know how to do it. Its either I stick to the traditional design (well, that'll be the huts, thatched roofs and everything...) or to the contemporary design...or hybrid.

traditional architecture is...yes sensitive to ones culture but dont you think its a bit constricting for radical thinkers like artists to live in?

What do you think?

Nov 9, 05 4:28 pm
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

Rather than simply making it either traditional or contemporary, why don't you try to select some of the qualities of the traditional architecture which you appreciate and bring them to a contemporary design?

What is good about the traditional designs?

Nov 9, 05 5:45 pm  · 
 · 
ichweiB

check out Renzo Piano's Cultural Center for New Caledonia. If you go to his website, you can find it there listed in his project section. He solved a similar problem that you are facing.

As far as style goes in general, don't you think that should be towards the end of the process? How far are you in the diagram stage of the process? If you layer your diagram correct, it should all fall into place, and "style" will be infered.

Nov 9, 05 7:57 pm  · 
 · 
bigness