Archinect
anchor

Fiction and Hotel Architecture

mondays

Hiya, I'm a student trying to get to grips with my dissertation...

These are my thoughts at the moment:

Could you say the split between the "no frills" and the "experience" hotel concept is respectively the split between fact and fiction?

...You know how the "hotel" has developed with society -e.g. the early "palace" style hotels that were built with the emergence of the new upper-middle classes in the industrial revolution (they were the place the new affluent business people & family could “see and be seen” and have “servants” and “cooks” -like the aristocracy...)

So in a way -they were acting out their role in the setting of the “palace” hotel.

The “no frills” is the other “side”-if you'd like. That's somewhere you go to for the essentials... like the new concepts of the “easy hotel” (London) or the “Yotel” (London) ... where there is no “experience” provided -and could therefore be seen as a place of “fact” ??!!

What do you think?
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks, S

Nov 7, 05 7:08 am
liberty bell

Have you read "The Hotel New Hampshire" by John Irving? Some nice ruminations on what people expect from a hotel experience in comparision to their everyday experience.

It's fiction.

Good luck with your dissertation, it sounds fun (if any dissertation can be "fun").

Nov 7, 05 9:27 am  · 
 · 
SpringFresh

I dont really think so-