Archinect
anchor

European Internships / Praktikum... for graduates?

Stephanie

I am Canadian but graduated in June of this year with my masters in architecture from Kunstakadamiets Arkitektskole  in Copenhagen. Basically, I'm an EU certified architect, and I have an EU work permit and valid residence in Germany and Denmark.

I've had 5 job interviews in the last two weeks, and every single one has--after discovering that I'm from Canada--offered me a 'praktikum' instead of the position I applied for. A prakitkum or internship in Europe is supposed to be for students, and is very low paid (max 400 euro/month).

This works okay if you are a student in the EU because most students get a stipend or student supplement from the government while they do praktikums, meaning they can get experience without having to compete with experienced architects and the firms don't lose money on the inexperienced intern. (At least, that is how it is supposed to work).

I finally asked one of the firms why they were offering me a praktikum instead of a position and they said that all the graduates from the USA are willing to do praktikums so they assumed that I would too.

I understand taking a praktikum while you're still a student, or between bachelors and masters. But accepting a super low-paid student position after you have a masters seems pretty ridiculous to me. It leads to a situation where firms know they can get fresh interns every 6 months and they will do the same work a regular employee would do. 

Most of the people on this forum are from the States... can you tell me... have you thought about taking a praktkum in Europe just to get some experience? Or do you know people who are doing this?