Archinect
anchor

buying a laptop

thexm

I give a try to buy a quite reliable computer even though I am not good at computer for my studio work. Since I have no idea about a laptop quite well, I like to get you guys' advice aboout a laptop.
From what I research, I think I need P4 2.66ghz, Ram 1g, hard drive 60GB, graphic card(i don't know. help me out!)... Correct me if I am wrong. Any recommendation for a good laptop with that specifications? my budget is around 2000 (could be little more than 2000). Thanks alot!

Jun 18, 04 8:49 am
mbr

That will work. Buy a Dell. If you want battery life, get a Centrino not a P4.

Jun 18, 04 8:53 am  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff

I had a thread going about laptops. Try to find that. There were good tips on it. After research though, I realized it's in my best interest to get a desktop.

Jun 18, 04 9:34 am  · 
 · 
mbr

It is hard to justify a laptop when you want to use Max or render. I've wnated one for years, but it just makes more sense to get a rocket ship of a desktop instead. Time is money, as they say.

Jun 18, 04 10:40 am  · 
 · 
jean-pierre

even a mortal enemy deserves not a dell laptop. support and reliability problems have forced several large universities (university of michigan, harvard ) in the states to drop them as a supplier in favor of more reliable / consistent vendors. i beseech you to entertain saving the unbounded mental and emotion anguish and not purchase a dell.

if you are bound to the windows platform, ibm's thinkpad series is well constructed and pick up the slack from sony's failing/ailing vaio product line.

it comes down to: how much is your time worth?

Jun 18, 04 10:25 pm  · 
 · 
Brim

powerbook.....g4....yumm.

Jun 23, 04 1:09 am  · 
 · 
tman

here's a side question about laptops. I have a very powerful laptop that has been overheating alittle. What should i do? Someone recommended buying a fan that the laptop can sit on top of

Jun 23, 04 11:20 am  · 
 · 
douglas

What make and model is it, tman?