Archinect
anchor

Identity Crisis - project architect?

eddieP

so for as long as i worked at my current office, i have been a project architect. recently, however, (without notice i might add) i was demoted to project architect.

i suspect it is b/c i am not licensed and that legally i am not allowed to be called an architect - i dont know this for a fact - i am guessing.

does this seem ridiculous to anybody else besides me?
is anybody aware of any specific laws that allow my office to do this?

Oct 26, 05 4:33 pm
eddieP

CORRECTION:
so for as long as i worked at my current office, i have been a project architect. recently, however, (without notice i might add) i was demoted to project director.

i suspect it is b/c i am not licensed and that legally i am not allowed to be called an architect - i dont know this for a fact - i am guessing.

does this seem ridiculous to anybody else besides me?
is anybody aware of any specific laws that allow my office to do this?

Oct 26, 05 4:34 pm  · 
 · 
salmon

Local state/provincial associations actually prevent you from calling yourself an architect unless you have completed your registration. This only applies to the field of architecture and our own governing bodies though. You can get a computer science degree and call yourself a software architect, data architect, information architect blah blah blah and they let it slide. Try entering architect into Monster and see how many replies you get

Oct 26, 05 4:38 pm  · 
 · 
salmon