Archinect
anchor

Tokyo Salary

norche

Hi folks,

I am a MArch graduate from a famous US school and I got an offer from one of the star architects in Tokyo. 

They offered me 250000 yen a month. Is that a reasonable pay? Is that enough to cover living expenses, student loan and also save some money?
Right now, at where I am working as an Architectural Designer, I got paid around USD 3850. My practical experience is around a year, and I have worked on projects of different scale and building types, eg residential, mixed use, hospitality, commercial etc

Any insights would be welcome, thanksss

Chris

Nov 12, 11 9:25 pm
batman

tokyo is really expensive to live.

oh and the women there...forgot about paying your loans, they'll get you.

Nov 14, 11 2:51 am  · 
 · 
timing

That's reasonable from a stararchitect. And like what batman said, it's very expensive in tokyo. you probably need dig into your pocket every month. on the other hand, it's good experience.

Dec 23, 11 4:18 am  · 
 · 
ElGrecus

This is a good offer from a star architect in Tokyo. As you likely know, most new Japanese employees will do an "open desk" period (unpaid internship) for 3-6 months  This in not at all out of the ordinary in Japan.

If we're talking about SANAA, Toyo Ito, Atelier Bow-Wow or the like, don't hesitate. The experience cannot be beat. Eat good cheap ramen, work hard... don't expect to pay your student loans off fast, but take advantage of the good opportunity.

Dec 25, 11 9:58 pm  · 
 · 

that is not a bad salary for tokyo as long as you don't go crazy with the fancy apartment and so on.  Taxes are fairly low here so even after deductions you will be able to live.  wouldn'T count on saving very much.  yen is high right now though so you may be able to pay more of your loan than you thought.