Archinect
anchor

What to do without Acad Standards?

Lord Auch

Hi All,
I just started a job that uses Autocad. I have used it in the past but here is the rub. The office has almost no cad standards to follow. People have done whatever they wanted as far as standards go. I have some good experience but don't feel like I have enough to develop a set of standards. I have looked over previous project files and a lot of it doesn't make sense to me, it may have to the person that came up with it but they are no longer around.
I am the only one that can use Acad so there is no one around to ask questions of.
Does anyone know of an off the shelf standard that can be used? Do I just pull it out of my ass?

Oct 24, 05 7:56 pm
quizzical
National CAD Standard
Oct 24, 05 8:08 pm  · 
 · 
momentum

i pulled on some of the old standards in my office which were disjointed and unused, and created a set of template files and such for people to pull from. they are now our standard setup for not only lineweights/levels etc. but also for file naming in terms of documents and referencing.

your boss if she/he has any sense would appreciate it highly if you did something similar. mine even gave me hours for which to complete the task once i told him what i wanted to do. i'd say within the next 3 months, those hours i spent will be made up for in terms of document setup alone (we do lots of small projects, therefore lots of setup). its already saving us headaches we used to go through when anarchy reighned supreme (when i came in a year and a half ago everyone did there own thing.)

if your boss isn't open to it, make your own little set of document standards, and try to follow them, or find someone in the office who has one already (then there will be two of you doing something the same at least).

Oct 25, 05 11:18 am  · 
 · 
jabber

You may find this thread of some use:

Drawing Numbering System

Oct 25, 05 11:30 am  · 
 · 
Lord Auch