Archinect
anchor

architecture and planning: utopian? dystopian?

baldo

are utopian ideals still applicable in today's hyprcapitalist and post industrial age? or is architecture merely a tool for our culture to resonate dystopian conditions?

Sep 27, 05 2:34 am
johndevlin

I've been designing my own utopian world as a private hobby since 1984 as an imaginative escape from this increasingly dystopian world we live in. when I was at Cambridge University in 1979-80 it was Utopia: and I have used that place and those memories as my template for an ideal world. I'm such a fool. I find Gehry et al ghastly.

Sep 27, 05 2:47 am  · 
 · 
ochona

one man's utopia is another man's dystopia

Sep 27, 05 1:28 pm  · 
 · 
bRink

A good read is Foucault's Heterotopias... According to Foucault, Utopia is not a real place, it has always been no place, a realm of our imagination. It has been sometimes escapist, and sometimes a tool--like what feminists call utopian praxis--, a means of imagining new possibilities other than what are given to us. Today, science fiction can sometimes be utopian and dystopian.

On the other hand, Foucault says there are real places that do exist that are simply different, other spaces, where the real and the imagined play together: