Archinect
anchor

shipping container architecture: your thoughts?

baldo

im currently doing a thesis using shipping container... i think the possibilities with this architecture is pretty interesting..in terms of form and space...check out lot-ek and wes jones... i like its subversiveness into our conventional ideas on architecture which is about stability, permanency etc..

Sep 21, 05 4:16 pm

It has been done too much.
Why dont you find a niche on this idea. I like your thesis as mobility in arhcitecture. Don't lock yourself into containers from the very beginning. Design new containers, design structures that are collapsable, design the contemporary tipi. Explore materials, culture, religion (the islamic idea that whereever you put down your carpet to pray it is holy space, and others...), the japanese hotels, American RV's. Look at slums, and homeless people, look at disaster relief, look at the ananrchist kids that refuse to live in homes.
Look at biomimicry, animals that carry their homes with them.

The shipping container is the easy way out.

Sep 21, 05 4:24 pm  · 
 · 
norm

let's move past the shipping container. i mean - unless you have a really new take on it - you are just mimicing wes jones and lo-tek. who actually are mimicing thousands of construction copanies who have been using these things forever. thesis is supposed to make an argument. there are a lot of arguments to make about stability and permanence.

Sep 21, 05 4:28 pm  · 
 · 

if you like the shipping container's "subversiveness:, read books on anarchy and use them as the basis for a [lack?] of architecture.

Sep 21, 05 4:33 pm  · 
 · 

an anti-space, anti-archtiecture thesis, I've seen people triy and fail misserably on this subject.

Sep 21, 05 4:35 pm  · 
 · 
mad+dash

+q: what books do you have in mind...
something similar to the manifesto from the
office for subversive architecture

Sep 21, 05 4:37 pm  · 
 · 

Books outside of architecture:
MArxist theories,
Analyzing John the Baptist,