Archinect
anchor

Architect: Anthony Ames

bigwayne3000

Architect: Anthony Ames. hey guys im new to the site. I'm currently a fist year college student studying architecture and i am tyring to find information on Anthony Ames as well as some pictures of his work as I have a small research project due this monday. I have tried google and yahoo and its like he doesnt even exist because i cant find any information on him what so ever, except like a 3 sentence webpage. Any help any of you guys can provide me in researching Anthony Ames and his work is greatly appreciated. you can email me: [email protected] or AIM: bigwayne3000 thanks again for any and all help it is much appreciated.

Sep 21, 05 12:25 pm

there was a book on him in the '80s, but it's probably out of print (so wouldn't show up on amazon, maybe). did you try your school library?
or the public library? or a nearby school with a fine arts library?

also, i'm pretty sure the office is still operating. (atlanta? can't remember.) contact them. maybe they'll send a brochure or something, or email images or .pdfs to you. if they've got a website, you can probably pull low-res images off of it.

Sep 21, 05 12:29 pm  · 
 · 
bigwayne3000

whats the name of the firm? i have no idea about this guy because for some reason i just am not able to find any info on him what so ever thru google or yahoo or anything. im lost to be honest with you.

Sep 21, 05 12:33 pm  · 
 · 
AP

don't know where to find stuff on him, although I am fairly sure his practice is in NYC. He lectured at UF a few years ago, when I was in undergrad there...from what I remember he lauded the New York 5, was interested in continuing the work of LeCorbusier (quite directly), and his home designs reflected this fascination with corbusier. Also, I remember him talking about intersecting 2 geometries and putting service and circulation in the intersection...that's about it...

Sep 21, 05 12:35 pm  · 
 · 
AP

think it's just, "Anthony Ames, Architect"