Archinect
anchor

Web Performance

dlj

I'm a recent architecture graduate and I'm currently trying to wrap up a webpage for a school of architecture and design. i'm concerned with the speed and performance of the site. the framerate is set fairly high, but the page runs extremely smooth on my workstation pc. i viewed it on a g4 though, and it was incredibly slow. i am hoping you can give me some feedback on how the page runs, and what kind of machine you're on. thanks.

Jun 15, 04 12:38 pm
anatomical gift

Do you have a link?

Jun 15, 04 12:39 pm  · 
 · 
dlj

yeah, i'm sure posting the URL would be helpful. http://arch2.sensitivesystem.com

Jun 15, 04 12:39 pm  · 
 · 

david - i think you forgot the URL? in general, i've had good cross-platform experience setting flash movies at 31 fps.

Jun 15, 04 12:40 pm  · 
 · 
anatomical gift

Very smooth, very nice. I'm on PC.

Jun 15, 04 12:41 pm  · 
 · 
dlj

Paul, for some reason i always tend to need high framerates to achieve smooth motion. maybe my actionscript is inefficient. I will not yet tell you what multiple of 31fps the page is set to right now. i find that lower framerates work well for changes in alpha but not well for moving a few things around the stage controlled from actionscript. the problem seems to be that the page runs really slow on some machines right now, but when i slow down the framerate, certain motion components become pretty choppy. maybe i have too much going on on the stage. i guess you have to strike a balance.

Jun 15, 04 12:44 pm  · 
 · 
duke19_98

Cool site, but your right it is slow. How may frames per second are you running? I sure wish our school would get their heads out of their arss and create a non lame web page.

Let us know when you figure out what the deal is.

Jun 15, 04 12:46 pm  · 
 ·