Archinect
anchor

Is it foolish to stay for the wrong reasons?

yangso

So, unlike in the more developed areas of the world, my small country in Asia is in actual need of architects and surprise surprise, I'm an Architecture student!  I've been in school for almost 2 years and I still hate the school work. I discovered I suck at designing and can't articulate anything about my designs at reviews , for the life of me. My last crit ended badly with an even worse grade(Hint: F) So I've decided to quit it (even if it means fighting for my happiness against my parents) when I decided this morning that I no longer wanted to live in misery. So you can imagine how much of a misery architecture school is for me.

But back to my question, although I hate the work with all my might, people back at home keep mentioning how bright my future looks and other such nonsense which makes me feel guilty about quitting the course. And being an architect is such a big deal for people back home. I would really like to quit but my friend telling me that the job market for architects looking good at home,makes me feel not to good about quitting,if you know what I mean? I'm sure just because I don't end up graduating in architecture doesn't mean I wont get jobs in other fields,right?(of course, provided I get another degree)

Somebody please come up with some sort of excellent reasoning to calm my power hungry side so that I can peacefully leave this course and not question if I have done the right thing.

And just to say it again, I HATE the course. I'd sooner jump off a bridge than sit through another Design studio tutorial, and am having second thoughts of quitting only because the job prospects look good. 

Oct 27, 11 6:39 am
On the fence

Getting Fs for five years in college will not equate to doing well in a good job market. If you hate it and suck at it then it is time to try something else.

Oct 27, 11 7:09 am  · 
 · 
****melt